Behind the glass wall: When my comments got caught in the spam filter

For almost a week now I have not been able to post any comments on other people’s blog. Or, to be more precise, I can post them alright, but they seem to disappear in some strange online nirvana. Or so I first thought.

Ok, my first thought was I had hit the ‘cancel’ button by accident. But how many wrong buttons can you hit in a row? I tried commenting on other blogs, with the same result. Puff, gone. So I ventured into the support corner of WordPress, posted my problem in the help forum and waited.

While I waited I discovered I felt a bit frustrated. Which is funny, since I am still such a newbie at blogging and commenting and stuff. All this reading of other people’s blogs, commenting on them, writing your own post – I have been doing that for only about 6 weeks now. Everything is fresh for me, as I am wandering around WordPress, finding new fascinating sites and post and thoughts. I am still feeling a bit tentative about throwing my thoughts out in the air, about forcing my opinion on other people by commenting on their thoughts. But I have to confess I do really like it. It is great to discover that somewhere on the other side of the world there is someone who thinks along the same lines, who wrestles with the same problems, or has these amazing ideas that make you think. If you had told me two months ago that I would get fidgety because I could not share my thoughts on some complete stranger’s ideas with the complete stranger (and anyone else who might be dropping by) I would have laughed out loud and called them silly.

Luckily I did not have to wait long until I was contacted by one of the “Happiness Engineers”. This really made me happy. I gave her the details she was asking for, she promised to look into the problem, I settled back to waiting. But hopeful. It came in handy that we had quite a busy weekend with the extended family, so I was not able to hop around the blogging world anyway.

And I did not have to wait long. My friendly Happiness Engineer was back with some news. She told me that apparently all of my comments are flagged as spam and advised me to contact the Akismet support for help.

Spam? Spam??? Me? My frustration levels were rising again. My comments are certainly not brilliant, but they are my honest thoughts, not spam! So far I had given the whole spam filter thing only about two thoughts, and they were all friendly, but now I was definitely feeling some grumpiness.

So I did as advised, got to the Akismet help corner, filled in a form stating my problem and hoped for another helping hand to appear. It did appear, asked me to give them more details, which I did. Now I am waiting again.

To be honest I feel a bit like I am stuck behind a glass wall. I can see what everyone writes, can see them communicate with each others, but cannot join in. The only thing I can do is throwing my own post out into the world, or rather stick it here, and hope that someone comes by. But I am not sure if anyone will notice.

Hello? Helloooo? Anyone out there who can hear me? I would like to join the conversation again!

But no, I am going to pull myself together now and remind myself that I do have a real life in the big 3D world around me. And that honestly no-one is sitting waiting for my comments anyway.

Just relax, do some writing offline, do some chores, write some real-paper Christmas cards (the big list of un-ticked names is frowning at you anyway), talk to your husband, go to bed early.

Yes, good choice. Will do.

(But secretly I do hope that tomorrow the nice people from Akismet contact me with the news that they have solved my problem, that I am no longer a persona non grata on everyone blogs. – Tomorrow? Please?)

 

8 thoughts on “Behind the glass wall: When my comments got caught in the spam filter

  1. [ Smiles ] How in God’s name does the comment of a newbie ends up as spam? Now, that is an interesting mystery.

    When you get an answer back from Akismet, please let me know why your comment was mistaken as spam.

    For the record, I am very comfortable with commenting on the posts of others.

    • Thanks for stopping by – at least in my own blog I can comment and reply as much as I like! 😉 As soon as the mystery is solved, I will let you know… maybe I will write a post about it – depending on the hilarity of the reason.
      Just had a look at your blog (one of your blogs…), hopped around and liked it very much. I will not try to post a comment there though… it probably will only end up in your spam queue 😦 Ok I could try but I do not want the day to end in disappointment. Maybe I will try tomorrow. 😉

      • [ Smiles ] You are welcome.

        Although your comments would head straight to someone’s spam folder if you commented on any WordPress blog (that is until Akismet rectifies the situation), my other blog on Google Blogger should accept your comment.

  2. This just happened with one of your comments on my blog. I check my spam queue occasionally, because I had heard that sometimes real comments end up there. I love comments- both getting them and leaving them; so I don’t think it’s weird at all that you felt a little antsy. The feedback and discovering new blogs is definitely part of what makes blogging enjoyable. I was surprised to discover this- I had no idea I would like it so much until I tried it 🙂 And I have to say, I won’t often keep reading a blog if the writer doesn’t interact with others much. There are a million blogs out there, no one is that special IMO. Then again, I typically read small blogs because I don’t like ones that seem too much like a business.

    I have no practical ideas though- I have no idea why it’s happening to you. I don’t think it’s that common so you just got unlucky 😦 Hope you get it sorted out soon.

    • Yes, that was when I got really grumpy: having typed that long comment on your great post and then see it disappear 😦 Glad you found it in the end. 🙂 It did give this comment and your blog as example to the Askimet people. Now I am just waiting to see what happens, getting more and more curious about the reason they flagged my comments – is the name of my blog, some keywords I used… I have no clue. – But it is nice to hear from you again! 🙂

    • Thanks for the thumps up! Good to know it is not just my bad luck – although, considering this last phrase: is it really good that it happens more often? 😉 It makes me feel better, which is strange… actually it should not make me feel good that other people have trouble too. But I guess that’s human nature… 😉

Leave a Reply

