The glass wall is down: How my comments got their wings back

(If you want to know what happened before, you might want to read the post before this one: Behind the glass wall: When my comments got caught in the spam filter)

Well, it did not happen “tomorrow”, so yesterday I was keeping myself busy by polishing my glass wall. It had gone a bit greasy from me pressing my nose onto it. Luckily there was one small hole in it though: One blogger found my comment in her spam queue and rescued it from there. So her blog was the only one accessible for my comments. Out of curiosity I did try one or two comments elsewhere – I found really great posts from people who had commented on my last post, so I just had to try to communicate. It did not work. So more of my words are hanging in spam folders somewhere. Sad.

But I was getting more and more curious about the why. The friendly support guy from Akismet had asked me to do another test by then, and I was waiting for the answer.

The answer came this morning: problem solved, you are ok again (not with exactly these words, but this is the gist of it). I was so happy! Did not completley trust it though, I have to admit (shame on me). So I did my own little tests: one coment on a blog where I had not tried it before. IT WORKED! Happiness spreading. Then I tried commenting at some place where I had failed before. I thought since there is one of my comments in their spam queue, maybe they will reject the following ones automatically? You never know, right? BUT IT WORKED TOO! Happiness complete.

The curiosity was still there though, since I still did not know the reason. So in my thank-you-it-worked-mail I asked the support guy if he could tell me what it was. Unfortunately he couldn’t.  Or rather, he wouldn’t. He just told me it was an oddity in Akismet, nothing to do with what I did or wrote. Which is quite consoling on the one hand, but on the other hand I would have really liked to know how this Akismet ticks. And what made it tick wrong. But probably that is knowledge on a need-to-know-basis… and it obviously I do not need to know. 😉 Or they did not want to bother me with technical details (I would have liked to be bothered in that case…).

Oh well, some mysteries will stay mysteries forever. For me the most important thing is that now my comments are flying free again.

Leave a Reply

