Holidays and the weather

I admit I have a fixation about the weather. I check the forecast a lot. I like to be prepared, in normal life but even more so on holidays. Holidays, that’s the key-word here. We will be leaving for Italy in a couple of days, and of course the visits to my preferred weather-website now also include the place where we will be staying, plus some place we want to visit. I want to know what kind of clothes to pack, when to plan which day trip. Yes, say it, I am a control freak. Guilty as charged.

But the whole weather business got me thinking: Have you noticed that people do not only care about the weather at their holiday destination – they also want to know how the weather  is/was like at home. So when they come back, one of the first questions they will ask is: “By the way, how was the weather here?” If the answer is “great, we had lovely, sunny weather”, they will nod politely. But look at them when you tell them “horrible, cold, rainy and stormy”. They will say something like “oh, what I pity”, but in their eyes you will see a spark of deep satisfaction. Because that is what they want. Great weather during their holidays and everyone else suffering.

Why is this? Why do we care? Why not just be happy if we have a great holiday? I guess it is a question of choice again. If we have a great time and the ones at home sit in the rain, we did the right thing: we choose to be away and we choose the right place to go. If we have a great time, and the ones at home too, well, that is ok, but not the optimum. We just could have stayed at home then too, right? And if, worst thing that can happen holiday-wise, we sit in the rain and see the money we payed drifting gently away, plus the others at home have the sun we ordered for us – oh my, definitely the wrong choice. Should have stayed at home. Bad, bad. And we hate it if we make wrong choices, do we? Can’t stand it at all.

So, if one of your friends comes back from holidays and ask you about the weather, be a kind soul: No matter how sunny and warm it was, just wave your hand at say “utterly rubbish”. It will make your friend  very happy. And isn’t that what counts?

And know please excuse me. I need to check the weather forecast for Italy again (not brilliant, I am afraid… but maybe it will rain in Holland too…) 😉

4 thoughts on “Holidays and the weather

  1. I’m always interested in the weather too. It amazes me how friends will plan outdoor activities and NOT obsessively monitor the weather. I always know what to expect… so yeah, it’s probably a control thing. I like to know what’s going to happen!!

    We’ve never really taken traditional vacations, but we used to live in a very touristy area. People would spend big bucks on their week’s vacation, and the coastal weather was so unpredictable. It rained more often than not… and then they would be so grumpy. Then all they could do was go shopping.

    Anyway, I hope you have marvelous weather and a great time!

    • Yes, I have seen it too: There are a lots of people on holidays where my mum lives now, and where we used to spent our summer holidays when I was a child. We were lucky to have a whole house to keep us amused, but those people in their small hotel rooms… I still remember seeing them walking around in the rain, wearing boots and raincoats and looking miserable…. while I was happily playing indoors with my toys. 😉

  2. You have just told the unspoken secret. And your are absolutely correct. My sweetie and I spent our honeymoon in a warm place in March: our first trip south. It seemed like everyone on both sides of our family and all our co-workers could not wait to tell us how beautiful the weather had been while we were gone. I wish they had read your post first! But you probably weren’t even born yet, ha ha.

    • Unless you have been married more than 40 years I was born when you went on honeymoon… 🙂
      Our holiday weather is worth some stories…. when I am finished doing the mountains of laundry and the boys are back to school I might write something down… 😉

Leave a Reply

