Eye Trouble – Part I

Do you have an internal list of stupid things you did to yourself?

Well, I do, and I have a new number one.

Right on top before was hitting the stairs with my fist out of anger and frustration about a good friend’s early death. Another story. Number two was missing the last step of – different – stairs and spraying my ankle. Stupid, but not unheard of. Rather common in fact.

But last Friday I managed to poke myself in the eye with my own finger. Don’t ask how I managed to do such a tremendously silly thing. I really don’t know it myself. I only know it was early in the morning, I had just gotten up, was searching for a pack of tissues in the bathroom to blow my nose. Found the tissues. Next thing I know is “ouch”. Really ouch. My eye clamped shut and was not ready to be opened again for quite some time. Tears streaming down my face, I stumbled into the bedroom, where Husband was just getting out of bed. “Can you have a look at my eye?” I asked him, “I poked myself with my finger.” “What?” His was still trying to really wake up and did defintely not look like he was ready to investigate anything, let alone some delicate eye business.

“Never mind.” I went back to the bathroom. Put some cold wet tissue on my eye. Managed to get dressed, to get downstairs to the kitchen, starting to prepare breakfast one-handedly. (One hand I needed to hold the wet tissue to my eye.) In between I tried to open my eye from time to time, without big success.

Husband came down, looked at my eye, did not see anything wrong. Which was a relief of some sort, but did not take away the feeling that there was something not right at all.

Boys came down, looked astonished at their mother’s strange behaviour, but wolved down their cereals as usual. Husband offered to drop the boys of at school, which was a relief as I was not fit for traffic at all.

So, with all three of them out of the house, I thought I might as well go back to bed, close both eyes and hope that things would be better after half an hour’s rest.

They were not. Not really. – They are now, but not completely. Which is why I not only have been missing out on everyone’s lovely blogs during the last week, but also why I should give my eye some rest now. And tell the second part of the story maybe tomorrow.

 

To be continued.

Leave a Reply

