Lessons Learned

No, this is not going to be “Eye Trouble, Part IV”, because I don’t want to define myself by that trouble any more. Things are still as they were, I am still hoping for December, full stop.

What I want to do today is think about some lessons I have learned from all of it. The obvious one being: “Don’t poke yourself in the eye”, but that is kind of a no-brainer. “Don’t let yourself get so tired that your reflexes start slowing down”, sounds a bit better. The whole thing definitely was a warning sign: If you think that neglecting sleep for weeks is something that won’t eventually catch up with you, you are wrong. Because you cannot sail along on “want to dos” and “have to dos” and “not enough hours in a day” forever. At one point the body needs rest, and it has various methods of making sure it will get it. Normally when I overstretch my boundaries I get sick, but it looks like this time I had gotten accident prone.

So that is lesson number one for me: “Take better care of your body.” (Ok, nothing really knew here, but it seems that I need to be reminded of that…)

But the most important thing I learned is how much we take things for granted. Having perfect eye-sight was something I never really appreciated. It was just as it was supposed to be. I could read for hours, sit in front of the computer almost the whole day, the worst I would get was tired. And sometimes, during winter, a bit of a dry eye from the heating air.

When Husband said “Where are my glasses” before reading the boys their bed time story, I never realised how lucky I was to just pick up a book and read. When I went to the optician with Older One to get his glasses, I did not think about how the world must be changing around him when he put them on or off.

But now, suddenly, eye-things have my attention. I ask my boy how it is for him to take off the glasses. Does he see everything blurry then? Because he did not seem to see the world blurry in the years before he got the glasses. Apparently yes, he does see blurry when he takes them off, but only for a few moments. Then his eyes focus and compensate and he can see properly again. He is long-sighted, so his eyes can adapt, but it makes him tired if he has to do it for too long. (Plus his eyes have different strengths, so the glasses also compensate for that.) But it means he can take them off for judo and still see his opponents, which is definitely a plus in this kind of sport.

My stupid right eye cannot do that trick. If I close the left one and something is too far away, it is blurry and stays blurry, and no amount of concentration on my side can change anything. (You could say I am now – hopefully only temporarily – near-sighted on one eye.)

So now I am really thankfull for my still perfect left eye, which is doing a lot of extra work these days, having to see sharply for both of them. I still hope that right one will improve further (at least I do not see does stupid circles around the lights any more, and the light sensitivity has improved a lot). Of course there is the possibilty the cornea will only heal partly, or not get thick enought, or whatever – resulting in me staying partly near-sighted. That would not be ideal, but there are a lot of worse things, so I am trying not to get to crazed out by that idea. It probably would not be the end of the world having to wear glasses for driving in the evening or so. Or for longer computer work. Many people end up wearing glasses when they get older, although there are probably not so many who are clumsy enough to injur themselves the way I did. (Plus I am not so keen on defining myself as “getting older”, but there is no question I am not getting younger either!)

Would that be lesson number three then? Stupid things happen, and sometimes they cannot be undone, but there is no point in letting them drag you down? Stop moaning about something as tiny as this and get on with your life?

Probably. Although I am not sure if I am quite ready for that one yet.

(Still hoping for the magic healing powers of my body to kick in.)

6 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. I am so sorry that your eye isn’t healed completely by now. I hope that it will be eventually 🙂 When I was in college I had a burning match tip fly into my eye, and burned the cornea, but it did heal in a few days with an eye patch on it.
    You’re so right about taking our health for granted. It is only when something is missing that we realize how wonderful our bodies are. I had a health issue when we first moved out to Colorado- lots of stress building up that I ignored, small symptoms that turned into bigger problems because I didn’t seek help initially. Well, some of it was lack of insurance too- of course it happened at the time when we didn’t have coverage yet through my husband’s new job. Fortunately everything worked out okay, but it was a rough couple of months.
    I don’t take my health for granted now! I’m pretty careful with myself, in fact.

    Sending you healing thoughts…

    • Thank you! I try to stay optimistic and not worry about it too much. The doctor did mumble something in a satisfied way at the check up last Friday (he is not talking if he can avoid it), so I hope it will be alright in the end. – But it is funny how we all need a sort of smack on the head before we are more careful with our health…

  2. Choosing, you’re so right about becoming more aware once something like your eyesight happens. I’m hoping all turns right side up again for you.
    My youngest daughter once held a banana up to eye level and proceeded to peel it, which caused the bottom to flip up and poke her in the eye. I think she is the only person in the world to poke themselves in the eye with a banana.

Leave a Reply

