Happy Birthday, Blog!

One year ago – after having thought about it for quite a while – I decided to give blogging a try. In the beginning I felt rather shy about it. It took me ages to pick a theme and think of a name for my blog. I tinkered around a lot – not because I am such a perfectionist, but because I did not want to put anything online that looked ridiculous.

I have already mentioned why I started the blog: to give some thoughts a home. And that worked out well. My intitial goal was to post something once a week – no really strict goal, just an idea, a number in my head to prevent me from getting too lazy. After one year this now my 40th post – not a big number, but ok. Especially if you take into account my stupid eye trouble, which reduced my screen time quite a bit.

What took me by surprise was how much I enjoy reading other people’s blogs. I do not follow a lot of blogs regularily, but there are a few I really try to keep up with. It sort of clicked when I read the first posts (with others there was no click at all.) To feel touched by the lives of people you have no other connection with than via their blogs, is special. When I read about their lives, their worries and moments of happiness, I feel worried or happy too. I do care.

So, a big thank you to all of them who share their lives, who have shown me new facets of being. Some of their lives are completely different than the ones I am living, some share some lines. But all of them give me food for thought, a different perspective and sometimes a good laugh.

 

Writing a bit, reading a lot, thinking even more. All in all, this has been a good blog year.

Happy birthday, blog. I will keep coming here.

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Blog!

    • Thanks! It must seem funny to you – having such a “big” successful site – to see a “small blogger” like me being happy with 40 post and only a couple of readers … 😉

  1. You are right, it is amazing how we can enter the lives of others online. Not in a creepy way, but a caring and sharing way. The blogs/posts I enjoy the most of from those who write from the heart and share their thoughts. Cheers for another year of posting on your blog!

    • Your blog is definitely good for hearty laughs! 🙂 I love the way you describe your life when you were a child/teenager… Some of it is movie-material! Thanks a lot for those stories!

Leave a Reply

